Main header image
UAW-Ford Rouge Powerhouse Memorial Scholarship Program
Deadline to apply: May 15, 2020 3:00 pm CT
Ford Motor Company has established a competitive scholarship program to assist UAW-Ford employees’ children who plan to continue their education in college or vocational school programs. Scholarships are offered each year for full-time study at an accredited institution of the student’s choice.

This scholarship program is administered by Scholarship America┬«, the nation’s largest designer and manager of scholarship, tuition assistance and other education support programs for corporations, foundations, associations and individuals. Awards are granted without regard to race, color, creed, religion, sexual orientation, gender, disability or national origin.

The UAW-Ford Rouge Powerhouse Memorial Scholarship Fund is dedicated to the memory and spirit of six brave men who died on February 1, 1999, in a tragic explosion in the Powerhouse at the Ford Rouge Manufacturing Complex in Dearborn, Michigan. This scholarship program has been established to honor their commitment and sacrifice to family and community so their aspirations can continue for generations.

Ken Anderson

Cody Boatwright

John Arseneau

Donald Harper

Warren Blow

Ron Moritz

Applicants to the UAW-Ford Rouge Powerhouse Memorial Scholarship Program must be:

  • Dependent* children of full-time UAW-represented Ford employees who are active as of the application deadline date
  • High school seniors or graduates who plan to enroll for the first time in full-time (12 credit hours) undergraduate study at an accredited two-year or four-year college, university, or vocational-technical school for the entire upcoming academic year
  • Have a minimum 3.00 grade point average on a 4.00 scale (or the equivalent) during their last three semesters in high school prior to applying for this scholarship

*Dependent children are defined as children who qualify as federal tax exemptions to the employee..

Selected recipients will receive a one time award of $1,000.

Awards are not renewable.
Awards may be used for tuition and fees only.
Awards are for undergraduate study only.


Applicants will be notified in late June. Not all applicants to the program will be selected as recipients.

Payment of Scholarships

Scholarship America processes UAW-Ford Rouge Powerhouse Memorial scholarship payments on behalf of the Ford Motor Company.

Scholarship recipients are selected on the basis of:

  • academic record
  • demonstrated leadership and participation in school and community activities
  • honors
  • work experience
  • statement of goals and aspirations
  • unique personal or family circumstances
  • an outside appraisal

Financial need is not considered.

Selection of recipients is made by Scholarship America. In no instance does any officer or employee of the UAW or Ford Motor Company play a part in the selection. All applicants agree to accept the decision as final.

Application Information

  1. Click on the link below to open the printable application form.
  2. Print and complete the application form.
  3. Mail the completed form and any other required documents to Scholarship America by the program’s application postmark deadline. (The mailing address is on the application form.)

Printable Application Form (This will open in a new window.)

NOTE: You will need Adobe iconADOBE Reader 6.0 or greater to open, use and print this PDF fill-in-the-blank form. If you do not have this free software installed on your computer, click on the ADOBE icon. Follow the directions to install ADOBE Reader (free download), then return to this page to proceed.

Postmark Deadline: May 15, 2020

Questions? Contact us:

Phone: 507-931-1682 and ask for the UAW-Ford Rouge Powerhouse Memorial Scholarship Program

Postmark Deadline: May 15, 2020

Questions regarding the scholarship program should be addressed to:

UAW-Ford Rouge Powerhouse Memorial Scholarship Program
Scholarship America
One Scholarship Way
Saint Peter, MN 56082